I was blind but now I see

By Rev. Julius Izza Tabi

Monday, July 3, 2023

I was blind but now I see

He replied, “Whether he is a sinner or not, I don’t know. One thing I do know. I was blind but now I see!” John 9:25

One of the most dramatic biblical passages in the gospels I love to read is John chapter 9 where Jesus heals a man born blind. There was a man born blind, he never saw anything since his birth. He lived by begging at the Temple gates until Jesus appeared in the scene. Jesus found him as usual, at one of the Temple gates begging. The disciples inquired why the man was born blind. Jesus was very clear that it was neither the man’s or his parents’ sin, his blindness was to reveal the might or glory of God.

Jesus spat on the ground and made mud out of it, rubbed it on the man’s eyes and asked him to wash in the Pool of Siloam. As the man washed, his eyes opened and he began to see for the first. This was an excitement for the man who was healed of blindness and to others who glorified God at this miracle. But it was not the case for the Pharisees, to them, it kept making Jesus popular.

So, they dragged the man to the Synagogue for interrogation and where possible, to make the man denounce Jesus. However, the man was resolute, he knew that he was born blind and now can see. He wouldn’t be influenced by the Pharisees that the man who healed him—Jesus was a sinner or was demon possessed. He firmly responded to the Pharisees;

“Whether he is a sinner or not, I don’t know. One thing I do know. I was blind but now I see!” John 9:25.

At the healing of the blind man and the events that unfolded thereafter we note about three things. First, Jesus is the Light of the world. Secondly, Mankind is naturally born in sin—spiritual blindness. And lastly, Jesus came into the world that the blind can see. The Pharisees had difficulties in believing that they were blind. The human nature is conceived and born in sin (Psalms 51:5) and indeed all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23). It is for this state of the human condition that Jesus came to the world, to make the blind see.

I was blind. I was deeply entranced in the dark thicket of sin. I walked in step with the wicked, stood in the way of sinners and sat in the company of mockers of the Way. I was once lost in the pleasures of the world and despised the ways of God. But the light of God shone in my heart and though I was blind but now I see. I was lost but now I am found.

When John Newton, an English slave trade dealer who did transverse the coast of Africa looking for slaves encountered Jesus Christ, his life was transformed. He acknowledged: “I am a great sinner, and that Christ is a great Savior.” He transited from a slave dealer to an advocate against slave trade and later served as an ordained minister. John became one of the greatest hymn writers—one of his classical hymns is Amazing Grace.

“Amazing Grace” speaks of the sweetness found in Christ’s grace for his children. As humans we are lost, blind in sin, and need saving. Jesus’s saving grace is amazing! Quote cited from Hymnology: The Story Behind “Amazing Grace”

The first stanza of his hymn speaks of human wretchedness. That despite human condition of being blind and lost, Jesus came to find us and make us see. John writes;

Amazing grace how sweet the sound
That saved a wretch like me
I once was lost, but now I’m found
Was blind but now I see

Like the blind man whom Jesus healed, John Newton firmly states in his song “I was blind but now I see.” Have you already been found and given sight by Jesus? Never lose focus. Do not let the intimidations and pleasures of this world blindfold you again.

Are you still lost in spiritual blindness? Jesus is seeking to save you. He wants to find you and give you sight. He is the Light of the world. All you need is to acknowledge that you are blind and lost, believe in the Son of God, confess him as Lord and ask him to save you. He will find you. He will give sight. And, like the blind man, and John Newton and many others who are saved by Christ, you can say: I was lost but now I see. Amen!

Rev. J

*Unless indicated, all scripture quotations are from the New International Version, NIV


Rev. Julius Izza Tabi, is a priest in the Church of Uganda (Anglican), Diocese of Ma’di-West Nile. He holds a Master of Philosophy in Religion, Society and Global Issues from MF Norwegian School of Theology and is a PhD candidate at Uganda Christian University. Julius is the Director of Uganda Christian University Arua Campus. He is married to Oliver and they have three children; Samuel, Shemuel and Shalem. They live in Arua City, Northwest of Uganda.

Categories: Tags: , ,

Leave a comment