For such a time as this

For-Such-A-Time-As-This
Image got from here

Monday 23 September, 2019

For such a time as this

“For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?” (Esther 4:14, NIV)

Reading Mordecai’s persuasion to Esther always brings a mixed reaction in my heart: it breaks my heart but also energizes me. In this persuasive charge, I find a strong conviction that God who foreknew me before I was born equally foreknew the times and seasons I should live. I also believe that God places me in positions of influence for particular occasions of the day. There is a close link between Mordecai’s words to Esther and that by Paul in Acts 17:26.

“From one man he [God] made all nations, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he marked out their appointed times in history and the boundaries of their lands.” It is therefore not a coincidence that I have been born to Severino and Catherine in the Goopi sub-clan, a Ma’di and Ugandan living in this particular era. But more so, God has made me live in this time, he has placed me in various positions of responsibility for a purpose. As he spoke to Jeremiah;

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born, I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations” (Jeremiah 1:5). God who knew me before I was born, he created me for a purpose. He appointed Jeremiah as a prophet before he was born, he appointed Queen Esther before she was born and made her a queen when the time was ripe for her to fulfill the purpose of her calling.

God knew you before you were born; he did not only know you but also foreordained you for particular occasions in this era. As it did Esther, sometimes the fancy comfort zones we have make us to forget that we are in certain positions for such a time as this. Like the men of Isaachar (1 Chron. 12:32), we should be sensitive in reading the times; we should always pray for discernment that God should reveal to us our calling in such a time as this. This like Esther should help us to rescue a nation; it should help us to make our positions and responsibilities relevant to the kingdom of God. Have you discovered your calling at such a time as this?

Prayer: Father in heaven, may your Holy Spirit who lives in me open my heart to discern every single moment for which I would cause effect unto your glorious kingdom. Amen!

Rev. J


Rev. Julius I. Tabi is a Dean of Students’ Affairs at Uganda Christian University Arua Campus. He is an ordained minister in the Anglican Diocese of Ma’di and West Nile (Church of Uganda) and serves as chaplain at Ushindi Secondary School in Arua. Julius is a student of Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) at Bishop Tucker School of Divinity and Theology of Uganda Christian University. He holds a Master of Philosophy in Religion, Society and Global Issues at MF Norwegian School of Theology. Prior to his pastoral training, Julius trained as a high school Biology and Chemistry teacher. You may reach him by completing the form below.

 

Categories: Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment