I am the Way, the Truth and the Life

the way - herculanum (from Fumcpastor)
Image got from here

Tuesday 17 September, 2019

I am the Way, the Truth and the Life

“Jesus said to him, ‘I am the [only] Way [to God] and the [real] Truth and the [real] Life; no one comes to the Father but through Me’” (John 14:6).

A few years ago, I boarded a commuter train in Oslo city with a fellow student who asked me whether believing in Christ makes sense to me. Without hesitation, I gave her a brief testimony of how my life has been transformed by Christ and told her that Jesus is the way, the truth and the life. My seemingly atheist friend was puzzled at my response; after taking a breath, she replied; “that’s fine if it makes sense to you.” I could see her wanting to say more than that but shortly, I reached my destination station and I disembarked from the train.

jesus-life-quote-truth-way-Favim.com-42604
Image picked from here.

There was no better reference I could make in regards to my faith than John 14:6. Here, we find one of the most fundamental statements about Jesus Christ without which Christianity would be like any other religion. This is Jesus’ declaration to Thomas; that he is the way, the truth and the life. Christianity is not just about religious practices and rites; it is about a firm faith in this declaration of Jesus to Thomas.

“When Jesus refers to himself as the way, the truth, and the life, he is giving us a better way to live our lives through him. He is showing us that through him daily in faith, he will lead us to a better, richer, more meaningful life than we could ever find on our own” (Jason Soroski).

The common adage that all roads leads to Rome do not count, Jesus is the way, the truth and the life, period. There is no other way to God than through him, no other knowledge of truth than him, there is no eternity without him. When Jesus proclaimed that he is the Way, the Truth and the Life, he meant that he is “the Way that leads to the Father, the Truth that teaches the knowledge of God; and the Life that animates all those who seek and serve him, which is to be enjoyed eternally at the end of the way” (Adam Clarke). Praise God!

Prayer: Lord Jesus Christ, help me to follow the way you show me, believe the truth you reveal and rest in the eternal life you offer. Amen!

Rev. J


Rev. Julius I. Tabi is a Dean of Students’ Affairs at Uganda Christian University Arua Campus. He is an ordained minister in the Anglican Diocese of Ma’di and West Nile (Church of Uganda) and serves as chaplain at Ushindi Secondary School in Arua. Julius is a student of Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) at Bishop Tucker School of Divinity and Theology of Uganda Christian University. He holds a Master of Philosophy in Religion, Society and Global Issues at MF Norwegian School of Theology. Prior to his pastoral training, Julius trained as a high school Biology and Chemistry teacher. You may reach him by completing the form below.

Categories: Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment